Quiz - game played under professional rules.

  1. The batter hits a line drive into the right-center field gap. The absent-minded first baseman is standing near his regular position, watching the baseball. As the batter-runner rounds first he nearly runs into the first baseman, but veers around him and proceeds to try for a triple.

    The first baseman has violated a rule. What is the violation called?

      1. blocking
      1. interference
      1. obstruction
      1. posting

  2. Runner on first, stealing on the pitch. The batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop, who throws to second, but R1 is safe at second. The second baseman then tries to throw out the batter-runner, but the ball gets by the first baseman and goes into the dugout, out of play. Ruling?

      1. R1 stays at second, batter-runner stays at first.
      1. R1 to third, batter-runner to second.
      1. R1 scores, batter-runner to second.
      1. R1 scores, batter-runner to third.

  3. True or False?

    The home team, which is using the third base dugout, is batting. The batter hits a high fly ball that will come down near the third base dugout. The third baseman goes over and it appears he will easily catch the ball. However, he trips over two fielding gloves that were illegally left lying on live ball territory by the home team, and he fails to catch the ball. The batter is out due to interference by the home team players.


  4. R2, no outs. The batter-runner bunts the pitch and is running to first on fair territory, illegally outside the 45-foot running lane. The catcher fields the bunt and throws to first. The ball just barely touches the batter-runner's shoulder. The first baseman flinches, but catches the ball for an out at first. He then throws home against R2, who is safe. Ruling?
      1. Batter-runner is out for running lane interference, R2 scores.
      1. Batter-runner is out due to the tag of first base, R2 scores.
      1. The ball became dead when it touched the batter-runner outside the running lane-running lane interference. R2 goes back to second base.
      1. Same as 'c' except the runner goes back to third base.

  5. True or False?
  6. The first baseman dives to his right to field a sharp ground ball. The pitcher is running down the first base line to cover the bag. The first baseman throws ahead of the pitcher, who is approaching first base with the runner. The pitcher reaches for the throw, but misses it and falls on the first base bag. In attempting to touch the base, the runner steps on the pitcher rather than the base. The runner tumbles past first base. The catcher has backed up the play, and runs the ball over and tags the batter-runner. The batter-runner is out because he failed to touch first. T or F?


  7. R3, R1, two outs. Ground ball up the middle, just past the pitcher's right side. The shortstop gloves the ball in front of second base and attempts to tag the sliding R1 instead of tagging the base. The tag is missed, but R1 slides past the base without touching it. As R1 scrambles back to the base, the shortstop tags him before he is able to return. R3 scored before the tag was applied for the third out (a 'time play'). The defense appeals that R1 missed second base, hoping to get a force out-an 'advantageous fourth out' - to negate the run.
      1. The appeal is upheld; R1 is out and the run cannot score since the third out is now a force out.
      1. The appeal is not allowed, the run scores.
      1. The umpire should simply call R1 out for being out of the baseline, thus avoiding this whole mess.

  8. R1, R3, one out, home team at bat, fifth inning. Squeeze play; runners stealing on the pitch. The batter attempts to bunt over the head of the charging first baseman. He pops the ball over the first baseman's head, but the pitcher makes a spectacular diving catch (taking attention away from R3). R3 touches home as the catch is made. He sees that R1 will be out easily, and he proceeds quietly to his dugout. The pitcher tosses the ball to first base for an easy retouch appeal, and R1 is the third out. The pitcher's trainer and manager sprint onto the field to check their pitcher for injury. A normal change of half-innings ensues; no one, including the plate umpire, deals with R3's failure to retouch or his run (which obviously scored before the third out-a time play). After nine innings, the scoreboard says the score is 2-2, and the visiting team eventually wins by an apparent score of 4-2 after 12 innings. In their locker room after the game, the umpires discuss the fifth inning double play, and realize that the run scored for the home team. What should they do?
      1. Nothing. It is up to the home team to find the error.
      1. The umpires must inform the official scorer and the two managers that the home team won the game in eight-and-a-half innings by a score of 3-2.
      1. The 4-2 final score stands; the mistake was not recognized before the end of regulation play, so the extra innings must count.
      1. The 4-2 final score stands; the mistake was not recognized before the umpires left the field.
      1. The umpires must refer the matter to the league president, commissioner, or supervisor by telephone.

  9. R1. Line drive at the first baseman who dives, but can only trap the ball for 'no catch.' R1, believing there is a catch, returns to first. The fielder tags first base and then R1 (who is touching first). Ruling?
      1. Both runners were forced to advance during the play, so both runners are out.
      1. The batter-runner is out, removing the force against R1, who is safe.
      1. R1 is out for interfering with the play by running the wrong direction. The batter-runner is out on the tag of first. Double play.
      1. R1 is out as soon as he touches first, because the batter-runner was entitled to the base. The ball is dead, and batter-runner is placed at first.

  10. The batter hits a deep and high fly ball into the right field corner. The right fielder gets under the ball at the fence, near the foul pole. He is standing on foul territory. The fielder jumps and touches the ball with his glove while the ball is over fair territory. The ball deflects off his glove and travels over the fence on the foul side of the foul pole. Ruling?
      1. Home run. The ball was fair and traveled over the home run fence.
      1. Foul ball. The fielder was on foul territory when he touched the ball, and the ball was foul when it went over the fence.
      1. Ground rule double. The ball was fair but traveled over the fence over foul territory.

  11. R3, one out. The batter swings, contacts the catcher's mitt, and hits a deep fly ball to right field. The plate umpire correctly signals 'interference' on the catcher. R3 tags up and scores. Ruling?
      1. The ball is immediately dead on the catcher's interference and the batter-runner is awarded first base. R3 back to third.
      1. Since the offense scored, the play stands.
      1. The umpire goes to the offensive manager and asks him whether he would like the interference enforced (batter-runner awarded first, R3 back to third), or the results of the play (batter-runner out, R3 scores).
      1. The umpire allowed the entire play to occur. Then, since the batter-runner did not reach first, he enforces the interference (batter-runner awarded first, R3 back to third). He will grant the offensive manager the results of the play if the manager requests such, but he does not offer the option.

Review Solutions